A Love Letter to Foxton Beach

Dear Foxton Beach,

I realise we’ve only been on three dates, but I’m just going to come out and say it: I think I love you.

Our first date took place hardly one week into the country during my last visit, coming up on three years ago now. It was so nice out that I poked my head in whoever’s room was open in my dorm and essentially said, “Hey, I’m Andrea; want to go to the beach?” And I’m so glad I did.

Date two took place the Saturday before last. Suzie and I had been talking about the beach for some time, but the weather was never quite right. Then one weekend the stars aligned (metaphorically, of course; this was during the day, after all) and we were off.

Highway 56 on the way to Foxton

Highway 56 on the way to Foxton

And then we arrived, O glorious day:

IMG_0392

All that glitters

All that glitters

IMG_0413

Obligatory toes in the sand photo

Obligatory toes in the sand photo. Ignore my direct-from-winter pallor.

The view from our new favourite place to nap

The view from our new favourite place to nap

IMG_0438

Remember this series?

Reason enough to like Mr. Grumpy's.

Reason enough to like Mr. Grumpy’s, and this is a very small portion of the menu:IMG_0451

Exhausted but not too tired to eat, of course

Exhausted but not too tired to eat, of course

One lone gull contemplates the world

One lone gull contemplates the world

These guys were actually pretty good about letting us eat in peace

These guys were actually pretty good about letting us eat in peace

Based on my previous postings of food, you might get the impression I only eat deep-fried food here. I can assure you that’s not true. But there’s just something about swimming to the point of fatigue and then napping in the sun on the beach that makes you crave fish and chips. Not to mention kumara (sweet potato) fries [far left] or a DEEP-FRIED MILKY WAY BAR [centre].

IMG_0473 IMG_0474 IMG_0480

Date three: last Wednesday. Suzie called to say she felt like getting the hell out of Dodge that evening, and it didn’t take much arm-twisting for me to go with her. Our aim was to see the sunset this time, so we packed some fruit and hit the road again.

The crowd was significantly thinner and we didn’t stay in the water long due to the dropping temperature. But we still had a fabulous time.  IMG_0563 IMG_0571  IMG_0576 IMG_0580  IMG_0595

The final descent, 8:50 p.m.IMG_0618

IMG_0673

And we ended the night watching a kitesurfer:IMG_0629

About Andrea

PNW native in NZ. Internationally published writer, editor, grammar enthusiast, genealogist and all-around storyteller. Recovering homebody. @Whitworth alumna - @gobucs!
This entry was posted in New Zealand Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

